6 Authors Who Became Immortal: One Piece Of Writing Is Enough background img
August 5, 2016

6 Authors Who Became Immortal: One Piece Of Writing Is Enough

facebook logo twitter logo email logo

Writing novels can be a tricky task. It can easily take years to finally write an  piece of literature and even after completion chances of the novel becoming a hit among the masses are scanty. The world of literature has seen great writers who have flooded the markets with some of their best works. But some extraordinary writers became immortal just through penning one single novel. One novel which marked a significant change in their lives.   Although this doesn’t happen frequently, there are authors who completely shook the world and made it crazy with their only piece of writing.

Here’s a list of authors who wrote just one novel and reached stardom:

#1 Margaret Mitchell, Gone With the Wind

The novel ‘Gone With the Wind’ is considered one of the greatest classics ever written. It became an extremely popular piece of literature and won a Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1937. The novel was adapted in a movie in 1939. Before its sequel could come, Margaret Mitchell died after being hit by a car.

#2 J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

The novel ‘The Catcher in the Rye’ deals with the angst and abandonment of a teenager is the only novel of Salinger. The novel was a hit. Although Salinger wrote many other short stories, but another novel never came from his side.

#3 Emily Bronte, Wuthering Heights

This novel came in the year 1847, a time when women writers weren’t allowed to write and so Emily wrote this novel under a pseudonym Ellis Bell. The novel is considered one of the greatest tragic love stories and gave to the world one of the most loathsome characters, Heathcliff. A year later Emily died of tuberculosis and hence there never came a sequel.

Emily Bronte

#4 Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

A realistic and intensely emotional portrayal of falling into insanity, this novel deals with exploration of human psyche. Sadly the author of such a haunting American classic, committed suicide a year later the publishing of the novel.

#5 Anna Sewell, Black Beauty

Black beauty is a classic written for children which became immensely famous right after its publication in 1877. The author, Anna, was bed-ridden when she composed this novel and died after a few months. Sadly the world never got to see a sequel.

#6 Ralph Elison, Invisible Man

Fire at Ralph’s house destroyed the manuscript for the sequel of Invisible Man which had won the US National Book award for Fiction in 1953. Ralph gave to the world another classic which went on to become the greatest novel of 20th century.


Comments to 6 Authors Who Became Immortal: One Piece Of Writing Is Enough

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *